catherine de callatay

Painter, Catherine de Callataÿ, born in Brussels in 1967, travels around the world and participates in several artists' studios from Seoul to São Paulo before settling in Paris in 2018.

 

Since 2020, Korean paper, Hanji, has served as a support for her to compose landscapes and shapes inspired by nature, using inks and watercolors. His preference is always for simplicity, clean lines. 

 

She uses this highly resistant mulberry paper, with a padded appearance, to create works that combine games of transparency and subtle tints of ink. She sometimes maroufles her works using the Japanese ura-uchi technique.

 

Through the use of fine and delicate papers, she wishes to explore the infinite beauty of the fragile. She wants to keep the frayed edges of her supports because irregularity and imperfection are for her a source of poetry. 

 

The discovery of the work of artists such as Lee Ufan or the architect Tadao Ando who seek stripping and connection with nature and the cosmos were founding for her. There is a certain spirituality in the act of painting, a letting go that allows the right gesture. We start again tirelessly before finding the right harmony.

DONATED WORK
Rhythm
95cm x 40cm
Ink on mulberry paper, hanji, Japanese ura-uchi marouflage collage
Value 990 euro

HIS UNIVERSE

catherine de callatay

Artiste peintre, Catherine de Callataÿ, née à Bruxelles en 1967, voyage à travers le monde et participe à plusieurs ateliers d’artistes de Séoul à São Paulo avant de s’installer à Paris en 2018.

 

Depuis 2020, le papier coréen, Hanji, lui sert de support pour composer des paysages et des formes inspirées par la nature, à l’aide d’encres et d’aquarelles. Sa préférence va toujours vers la simplicité, les lignes épurées. 

 

Elle utilise ce papier de mûrier d’une grande résistance, d’un aspect ouaté pour créer des œuvres qui associent les jeux de transparence et celui des subtiles teintes de l’encre. Elle maroufle parfois ses œuvres selon la technique japonaise ura-uchi.

 

À travers l’usage de papiers fins et délicats, elle souhaite explorer l’infinie beauté du fragile. Elle tient à conserver les bords effilochés de ses supports car l’irrégularité et l’imperfection sont pour elle source de poésie. 

 

La découverte du travail d'artistes tels que Lee Ufan ou l'architecte Tadao Ando qui recherchent le dépouillement et la connexion avec la nature et le cosmos ont été pour elle fondateurs. Il y a une certaine spiritualité dans l'acte de peindre, un lâcher-prise qui permet le geste juste. On recommence inlassablement avant de trouver la bonne harmonie.

OEUVRE DONNÉE
Rythme
95 cm x 40 cm
Encre sur papier de mûrier, hanji, collage marouflage japonais ura-uchi
Valeur 990 euros

SON UNIVERS